Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Book Review Thursday

From Gerti - Review of Veronica Roth’s “Divergent”

I’m so proud of Northwestern University graduate Veronica Roth for this brilliant debut YA novel. Although teens consider it this year’s “Hunger Games”, that comparison does not mean it is bad. “The Hunger Games” is the story of a young woman’s struggle to survive in a dystopian world, and so is “Divergent,” but in Veronica Roth’s novel, the setting is Chicago, which makes this an even more interesting read for someone familiar with the city and its sights like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Also in Roth’s favor is the fact that her heroine, Beatrice Prior, has a normal name. Sorry, Suzanne Collins. I think Katniss is a mouthful.

In THG, the brave new world is divided into 12-ish districts, and just about any teen can tell you which tribute comes from which district, and what that district makes or grows. In Roth’s world, there are five factions instead, and they are divided into specific virtues that the survivors of a war decided were important to keep around. Protagonist Beatrice (or Tris, as she becomes later) is from Abnegation, a grey-wearing, Amishesque group who believe that being selfless is the path to true peace. The other groups are Candor (for the painfully honest), Dauntless (for the insanely brave), Amity (for the friendly), and Erudite (for those who like research and reading). But there is movement between the groups.

Just as in THG, teenaged Tris is at this turning point in her life where she must choose what to be. In the Hunger Games, the districts have to send tributes to the eponymous “games”. In Roth’s world, each 16 year old has to undergo a series of mental tests which determine (to a large extent) to which faction they truly belong. Tris has had a hard time being selfless like her parent’s in Abnegation, and her test shows it. But she is something even rarer called Divergent (hence the title), which means that she has elements of various factions. Her test giver changes the results so this fact isn’t automatically known to her superiors, and warns Tris that she should tell no one about the results (not even her family), as being Divergent can be deadly.

Despite some qualms about leaving her family, Tris chooses Dauntless, and her new name comes with her introduction there as a Transfer. Like THG again, there is some training, there are some tests, but like Katniss Everdeen, Tris is able to learn and move from the bottom to the top of the ranks of new Dauntless candidates by playing to her own peculiar strengths. Like any young adult novel, Tris makes friends, faces down enemies, and has several opportunities for romance within her new faction. Of course there are symbols for each faction (think marketing opportunities!) and Tris gets a few tattoos which reflect her heritage and choices. The final scenes of the book involve her foiling an Erudite revolution against Abnegation involving a Dauntless army… and if that sounds too confusing, you must read the book! It is a thrilling trip into a dystopian post-war Chicagoland filled with teenaged angst and adventure. Can’t wait to read the next one!

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Monday Madness: Is it summer Yet?

With all this cold and snowy weather I'm ready for warmer temperatures.  Short of hopping on a plane to a warm destination I'm going to have to make due with some fun summer reads and wish I was at the beach reading them!  To help you through the cold days ahead check out some of these fun beach reads!

Place a Hold HERE

Anna is dreading another tourist-filled summer on Dune Island that follows the same routine: beach, ice cream, friends, repeat. That is, until she locks eyes with Will, the gorgeous and sweet guy visiting from New York. Soon, her summer is filled with flirtatious fun as Anna falls head over heels in love. But with every perfect afternoon, sweet kiss, and walk on the beach, Anna can't ignore that the days are quickly growing shorter, and Will has to leave at the end of August. Anna's never felt anything like this before, but when forever isn't even a possibility, one summer doesn't feel worth the promise of her heart breaking....(From LCPL's website)




Place a Hold HERE

Spending the summer in the Tuscany region of Italy on a secret mission to solve a family mystery, English teenager Violet is distracted by exciting American roommates and sexy Italian boys on Vespa scooters.(From LCPL's website)











 Place a Hold HERE

There Are Some Summers You'll Always Remember Sometimes I wake up shivering in the early hours of the morning, drowning in dreams of being out there in the ocean that summer, of looking up at the moon and feeling as invisible and free as a fish. But I'm jumping ahead, and to tell the story right I have to go back to the beginning. To a place called Indigo Beach. To a boy with pale skin that glowed against the dark waves. To the start of something neither of us could have predicted, and which would mark us forever, making everything that came after and before seem like it belonged to another life. My name is Mia Gordon: I was sixteen years old, and I remember everything.

Monday, January 6, 2014

Monday Madness: The Fault in Out Stars by John Green

For those who have read TFIOS and loved it you are all waiting impatiently for the movie to come out on June 6.  Here is a behind the scenes on the set with John Green to tide you over.  It has to be pretty cool for him to be on the set watching his work come to life.









Now I have to say I like this movie poster but I'm not crazy about the tagline.  What are your thoughts?

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Book Trailer Thursday



Place a hold HERE

In this sequel to How to Ruin a Summer Vacation, EVERYTHING in sixteen-year-old Amy Nelson Barak's life is going wrong! Her mom got married and moved to the suburbs, and now they are going to have a baby. Amy moves in with her dad in Chicago and signs him up for an online dating service. His first four dates are that night . . . What else? Her dog Mutt impregnated her grumpy neighbor's prized poodle, so Amy will actually have to get a part-time job to pay for half the veterinary bill. And there's this totally annoying boy, Nathan Rubin, who just moved into her apartment building. Luckily, Amy has a cute boyfriend named Avi. Only he's more like a non-boyfriend considering Avi is in the Israeli army for the next three years. What's a girl to do when everyone is conspiring to ruin her life?


Since this is a trilogy and this is the second book the first and third are below.  No need to thank me!

 Book One, place a hold HERE

YALSA 2007 Teens' Top Ten "A breezy read." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Fresh, fun and fabulous! Guaranteed NOT to ruin your summer vacation!" --Mari Mancusi, author of Boys that Bite How To Ruin a Summer Vacation Moshav? What's a moshav? Is it "shopping mall" in Hebrew? I mean, from what Jessica was telling me, Israeli stores have the latest fashions from Europe. That black dress Jessica has is really awesome. I know I'd be selling out if I go to a mall with Ron (my biological father), but I keep thinking about all the great stuff I could bring back home. Unfortunately for 16-year-old Amy Nelson, "moshav" is not Hebrew for "shopping mall." Not even close. Think goats, not Gucci. Going to Israel with her estranged Israeli father is the last thing Amy wants to do this summer. She's got a serious grudge against her dad for showing up so rarely in her life. Now he's dragging her to a war zone to meet a family she's never known, where she'll probably be drafted into the army. At the very least, she'll be stuck in a house with no AC and only one bathroom for seven people all summer--no best friend, no boyfriend, no shopping, no cell phone... Goodbye pride--hello Israel.

 Book Three, place a hold HERE

"A great read-alike for fans of Meg Cabot, Melissa Kantor, and Sarah Dessen." --VOYA Guess who's jetting off to the Holy Land this summer! Yes, it's me--Amy Nelson-Barak. I've volunteered for ten days of military training in Israel with my friends. The Sababa brochure said it would be a "fun" summer experience. Okay, so I didn't sign up to prove I'm not a princess...I did it to surprise my hot Israeli boyfriend stationed at the same base. Too bad nobody told me: - It's hot in the Negev desert...like, so hot your makeup melts off and you get under-boob sweat spots. - You can't sleep in until 11 a.m. - You shouldn't kill bees with your flatiron--don't ask. - Peeing in a hole isn't easy (when you're a girl)--double don't ask. When I find out our team leader is my boyfriend Avi, I'm totally psyched...until I learn he has to treat me like all the other recruits. Can you say OY VEY!

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

New Year's Day: Library Closed

All locations of LCPL will be closed on New Year's Day.  Happy New Year!  Regular hours will resume on Thursday 1/2/14.