Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Hunger Games Readalikes

Enjoy these books while waiting for The Hunger Games movie to be released on March 23.
Variant

By Robinson Wells
After years in foster homes, Benson Fisher applies to New Mexico's Maxfield Academy in hopes of securing a brighter future. Instead he finds that the school is a prison where the imprisoned teenagers must fight to survive when the rules change daily... and the punishment for breaking those rules is death...

Thursday, February 23, 2012

New Ya Books

Cascade
Cover imageBy Lisa Tawn Bergren

When Gabi and Lia return to medieval Italy with their mother, they find a heroes' welcome from the people of Siena and enemies that wish them dead.


Monday, February 20, 2012

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer


Calla Tor is a Guardian. A Guardian is a wolf that turns into a human. Guardians are bodyguards to the Keepers and they protect them from the Searchers. But are the Keepers really the good guys like they say they are? Did you get all that?

This book opens up with Calla saving the life of a human boy, which is forbidden. Then you are flung right into the story. Calla is the alpha of her young Nightshade wolf pack and she is destined to marry the alpha of the young Bane wolf pack. She's okay with her destiny until the human boy she saved turns up at her high school. Then her destiny gets all turned upside down. I was a little confused at first at who each group was, Guardians, Keepers, and Searchers. It finally made sense once Calla starts to explain it to the human boy Shay. Besides that I really liked this book. I really liked the characters. The adults I could have done without. Many were cruel and heartless. I'm not sure I would want to live in this world.

Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

In the second book you find Calla has chosen a different path and opened up a huge can of worms. By choosing Shay she has set a collision course that no one could have predicted. But the house of cards has to come tumbling down. It's just sad at the amount of people that have to suffer for that to happen. Who will Calla choose, Shay or Ren.

Bloodrose by Andrea Cremer


I anxiously awaited for this book to come in for me at the library. When I saw it at Walmart I wanted to just find a cozy spot to sit and read it but my husband didn't want to wait around for me and I didn't want to be abandoned at Walmart. If I bought every book I wanted to read I would be broke. Well more broke then I am now because after paying bills I'm pretty broke but I digress.

Anyhoo I really enjoyed this Nightshade trilogy. Ms. Cremer has a great voice. I love her characters, the story, and she writes some great action scenes. What I love about this series is the love triangle is believable. You almost wish Calla could be with both Shay and Ren. I wouldn't want to be in her shoes having to choose which one to be with. But I wouldn't mind having some fun with them before choosing :). You are only that age once.

Anyway Bloodrose sucks you in from page one and doesn't let go until the end. The ending was a total shocker. I didn't see it coming at all and since I read so much it's hard to shock me. For a minute I thought I was going to have to write some unhappy fan mail to Ms. Cremer but she gave me a happy ending. Not exactly an ending I loved but it was happy and everything was pretty much tied in bow. Which is how I like my series to end. If you are interested in reading about how this world got started the first chapter of the prequel Rift is available on Ms. Cremer's website www.Nightshadebook.com.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Glass Houses by Rachel Caine

If you aren't all vamped out then you should checkout this series. A patron recommended it to me and I'm glad she did.

Claire Danvers is a sixteen year old genius. She graduated from high school early and headed off to college. Because of her age her parents didn't want her going too far away so she ended up in Morganville. Morganville is a small college town filled with quirky characters. When Claire is harshly hazed by some upper class mean girls she heads off campus and finds solace in the big old house that is Gone With the Wind meets the Munsters with roommates Michael, Shane, and Eve. What Claire finds out is that Morganville is run by vampires. You are either protected by them or you are food. It doesn't take long for her to get on the vampires bad side.

I read through book one rather quickly and have started book two. I am excited that in all she will have 15 books maybe more. Hopefully I won't get bored half way through. Sometimes with long running series that happens to me but I have high hopes.

Let Me Introduce Myself...


Hi my name is Lacey and I promise I don't go around wearing a red nose. That would just be silly, but what I can say is that when I was a teenager this is how you would find me most days. My nose would be in a good book. Honestly things haven't changed much. I still carry around a book with me everywhere I go and I read every chance I get, even at red lights. Becoming a Librarian just seemed like the right thing to do. I love my job. I'm surrounded by books and great people. Win, win in my book.


Here is a quick run down on me: 2012 marks 10 years for me at LCPL (I'm a Librarian at Hobart Township), 7 years of marriage (WOW) to my best friend Will, I have four furry babies one of which wears a diaper, I love to read (shocker), I love to cook, bake, and blog about it, and I will be blogging on here and here.

I hope to see you around!

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Grammy Awards

Here is a list of the winners from the Grammy Awards.  Want to hear a winner's songs!  Click on the links to place a hold.


Album of the Year: "21," Adele
Record of the Year: "Rolling in the Deep," Adele
Song of the Year: "Rolling in the Deep," Adele Adkins & Paul Epworth
New Artist: Bon Iver
Pop Solo Performance: "Someone Like You," Adele
Pop Performance by a Duo or Group: "Body and Soul," Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse
Pop Vocal Album: "21," Adele
Alternative Album: "Bon Iver," Bon Iver
Rock Song: "Walk," Foo Fighters
Rock Album: "Wasting Light," Foo Fighters
Rock Performance: "Walk," Foo Fighters
Hard Rock/Metal Performance: "White Limo," Foo Fighters
R&B Album: "F.A.M.E.," Chris Brown
Rap Album: "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy," Kanye West
Best Country Album:  "Own the Night" Lady Antebellum


You can also check out the Grammy Nominees 2012 cd.


What was your favorite winner and performance?

Monday, February 6, 2012

Twilight Readalikes

If you love Twilight and you're not sure what to read next here are some readalikes:


Shiver
By Maggie Stiefvater
In all the years she has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house, Grace has been particularly drawn to an unusual yellow-eyed wolf who, in his turn, has been watching her with increasing intensity.   




 By L.J. Smith
Elena: the golden girl, the leader, the one who can have any boy she wants. Stefan: brooding and mysterious, he seems to be the only one who can resist Elena, even as he struggles to protect her from the horrors that haunt his past. Damon: sexy, dangerous, and driven by an urge for revenge against Stefan, the brother who betrayed him. Determined to have Elena, he'd kill to possess her. The Vampire Diaries, the tale of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them.


Vampire Kisses Series
By Ellen Schreiber
Sixteen-year-old Raven, an outcast who always wears black and hopes to become a vampire some day, falls in love with the mysterious new boy in town, eager to find out if he can make her dreams come true.  





Beastly 
By Alex Flinn
A modern retelling of "Beauty and the Beast" from the point of view of the Beast, a vain Manhattan private school student who is turned into a monster and must find true love before he can return to his human form.




Look for the Breaking Dawn Part 1 dvd to release on Feb. 11 and the Breaking Dawn Part 2 to come to theaters on Nov. 16, 2012.

Friday, February 3, 2012

February Events

Cedar Lake Library
Snack and Plan-Feb. 6 at 5pm

Members of T.A.B., Teen Advisory Board, and those wishing to join will eat, play games, and plan programs for teens and younger kids. Participants will earn volunteer hours.
Sensational Scarves and More-Feb. 16 at 4 pmMake your own felt scarf--decorate it with beads and/or fabric paint. Experiment with a variety of hot chocolate and other warm food, including pretzels. All supplies, snacks and pop will be provided.

Game Fest-Feb. 29 at 3 pm
Play a variety of PlayStation & Wii games. Those who wish may compete in tournaments for prizes. Food & Pop will be provided.

Dyer-Schererville Library
Young Readers-Feb. 9 at 6:30
This is a monthly group for teens to review books they have read. Light refreshments are served.

Hobart Libary
Pre-Teen Program: Tissue Paper Luminaries-Feb 21 at 6 pm
Pre-Teens, ages 9-13, will make tissue paper stained glass jar luminaries. Tissue paper and other supplies will be provided. Please bring a small to medium-sized glass jar.

Griffith Library
Graphic Novel Club-Feb 23 at 6:30 pm
Teens and adults are welcome to discuss Graphic Classics: Robert Louis Stevenson that combines characters from the stories of Treasure Island, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, The Sinking Ship, Spring Song, The Land of Nod, Yo Ho Ho and a Bottle of Rum, The Angle, The Suicide Club, The Bottle Imp, and so much more.

Highland Library
Teen Gaming-Feb 28 at 4 pm
Teens are invited to play Guitar Hero and DDR as well as board games. Snacks will be provided.

New Teen Books

Here are a few new books at the library.

By Marissa Meyer

As plague ravages the overcrowded Earth, observed by a ruthless lunar people, Cinder, a gifted mechanic and cyborg, becomes involved with handsome Prince Kai and must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect the world in this futuristic take on the Cinderella story.


Forbidden

By Syrie James

As sixteen-year-old Claire's newly-revealed psychic abilities bring unwelcome attention from Watchers, Alec, a Watcher grown tired of having to eliminate descendants of his angelic forefathers, has fallen in love with Claire while hiding out at her school, unaware that she is a Nephilim, a half-angel.

By Kelley Armstrong

Maya and her friends--all of whom have supernatural powers--have been kidnapped after fleeing from a forest fire they suspect was deliberately set, and after a terrifying helicopter crash they find themselves pursued by evil-doers in the Vancouver Island wilderness.

For more books check out Wowbrary.